TO MY SON

My whole life changed when I became a Christian and I know my son doesn’t understand because he is not a believer.  I wrote this poem to express my love for him and my concern for the salvation of his soul. 

TO MY SON

Son, do you think I love you less,

Because of my new birth?

If truth be known, I love you more,

Knowing, your soul, it’s worth.

* * *

A brand new road I travel on,

Now walk another path,

A different road, than those who will,

One day incur God’s wrath.

* * *

You may not understand, my son,

The many things I say,

Seed planted deep within your heart,

I pray will bloom one day.

* * *

I see so many blind to faith,

When life is almost through,

How can I just ignore the thought,

One day that could be you?

* * *

If you should gain, son, all the world,

What shall it profit you?

The things of earth, a bad exchange,

Your soul at last to lose.

* * *

I love you still, though I’ve withdrawn,

From worldly ways of earth.

If truth be known, I love you more,

Knowing, your soul, it’s worth.

Cathy White 2007 ©

Matthew 16:26 For what is a man profited, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul? or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul?

